Message from the Chairman of the Management Board

Boris Kovalchuk
Chairman of the Management Board
Dear Shareholders,

In 2018, Inter RAO Group continued implementing its Development Strategy for the period until 2020, which aims to preserve its leading position in the domestic power industry. As in previous years, Inter RAO’s main priorities included enhancing production and economic efficiency, upgrading and modernizing existing assets, decommissioning inefficient facilities, and developing modern technologies for interaction with our customers.

In March 2018, we wrapped up an ambitious multi-year investment program to build new generating facilities as part of CDA projects. The last facility in the program was the Zatonskaya CHPP in Ufa with capacity of 440 MW. The plant enabled the city to actively develop the Zabelye micro-district now that its residents can be provided with heat.

In total, we commissioned roughly 1 GW of generating capacity in 2018. In addition to the Zatonskaya CHPP, this also included strategic facilities for Russia in the Kaliningrad Region – the Mayakovskaya, Talakhovskaya, and Pregolskaya TPPs, whose power units were commissioned well in advance of the government’s schedule. Russian President Vladimir Putin has said they will not only provide reliable power supplies to the entire region both now and in the future, but will also create contingencies in the event of any unforeseen circumstances.

At the same time, our Company, one of the few that is consistently implementing the reforms, is decommissioning old assets and reducing the proportion of inefficient facilities used for generation. We have seen how this has had a positive effect on our production and economic indicators: installed capacity equals 3.1%, while the Group’s EBITDA increased by 24.2%. As a result of this as well as systematic work to improve the culture of safe production, Inter RAO has boosted the reliability of its main equipment, while reducing the number of technological disruptions.

Key factors affecting the Company’s financial performance not only include the enhanced quality of its assets, but also productive work on the heat generation market and supply activities. We had considerable success in terms of improving tariff regulation and increasing revenue in both market segments in almost all the regions where the Company operates. In addition, the Inter RAO Group secured the status of a guaranteed supplier in the Vladimir Region starting from April 1, 2018 and in the Vologda Region starting from January 1, 2019.

Efficiency also increased in the trading segment, primarily with Lithuania and Finland, to which supplies increased by 41% and 37%, respectively, as a result of technical solutions and good pricing on the NordPool market. As a result, EBITDA in the segment increased by RUB 8.9 billion, or 119%, in 2018.

All these successes not only enabled us to ensure the reliability and stability of power supplies to our customers, but to also raise the bar for the Company’s progressive development.

In the near future, Inter RAO will focus on such projects as modernizing generating facilities and digitalizing production and business processes in an effort to enhance its investment appeal and boost shareholder value.

The upcoming modernization of thermal power generation in the electric power industry will require concentrated efforts from all power engineering specialists without exception. For its part, the Company has prepared as much as possible and address ed issues concerning the involvement of its facilities in the modernization program. A lot of work remains to be done in 2019 to practically achieve these objectives.

In addition, Inter RAO will continue to improve the operations of power supply companies within the standards that have been established and will actively enhance the efficiency of its thermal power business as well as trading, engineering, and other business segments.

The Inter RAO Group is ready to continue working effectively in the interests of its shareholders, customers, employees, and their families as well as for the benefit of society as a whole.

Обращение Председателя Правления

Б.Ю. Ковальчук
Б.Ю. Ковальчук
Председатель Правления
Уважаемые акционеры!

Группа «Интер РАО» в 2018 году продолжила реализацию Стратегии развития до 2020 года, направленную на сохранение лидирующих позиций в отечественной электроэнергетике. Как и в предыдущие годы, среди главных приоритетов деятельности «Интер РАО» – повышение производственной и экономической эффективности, обновление и модернизация действующих активов, вывод из эксплуатации неэффективных мощностей и развитие современных технологий взаимодействия с потребителями.

В марте 2018 года была завершена масштабная многолетняя инвестиционная программа по строительству новых генерирующих мощностей в рамках проектов по ДПМ. Последним объектом в ней стала Затонская ТЭЦ в Уфе мощностью 440 МВт. Она позволила городу активно развивать микрорайон Забелье, так как появилась возможность обеспечить его жителей теплом.

Всего в 2018 году было введено в эксплуатацию около 1 ГВт генерирующей мощности. Помимо Затонской ТЭЦ это стратегические для России объекты в Калининградской области – Маяковская, Талаховская и Прегольская ТЭС, энергоблоки которых были введены со значительным опережением правительственного графика. Со слов Президента Российской Федерации Владимира Владимировича Путина, они не только позволят надёжно обеспечить энергоснабжение всей области, причём на перспективу, но и создадут определённые резервы на случай любых непредвиденных обстоятельств.

Одновременно наша Компания, одна из немногих, кто действует в логике реформы, выводит из эксплуатации старые активы, сокращает долю неэффективных мощностей в выработке. Мы видим, как это позитивно сказывается на производственных и экономических показателях: рост установленной мощности превысил 3,1%, а показатель EBITDA Группы вырос на 24,2%. Благодаря этому, а также системной работе по повышению культуры безопасного производства, повышается надёжность основного оборудования и снижается количество технологических нарушений.

Среди ключевых факторов, оказывающих влияние на финансовый результат Компании, можно отметить не только повышение качества активов, но и плодотворную работу на рынке тепловой генерации и сбытовой деятельности. Нам удалось добиться заметных успехов в части улучшения тарифного регулирования и увеличения выручки в обоих сегментах рынка практически во всех регионах деятельности Компании. При этом Группа «Интер РАО» добилась получения статуса гарантирующего поставщика во Владимирской области – с 1 апреля 2018 года и в Вологодской области с 1 января 2019 года.

Также нельзя не отметить повышение эффективности в сегменте трейдинга, прежде всего в направлении Литвы и Финляндии, где рост объёма поставок составил соответственно 41 и 37% в результате технических решений по увеличению заполнения объёма сечений и хорошей ценовой конъюнктуры на рынке NordPool. В итоге в 2018 году показатель EBITDA в сегменте возрос на 8,9 млрд рублей, или в 2,2 раза.

Все эти успехи позволяют нам не только обеспечивать надёжность и стабильность энергоснабжения потребителей, но и повышать планку поступательного развития Компании.

В ближайшей перспективе «Интер РАО» в целях повышения инвестиционной привлекательности и роста акционерной стоимости сосредоточится на таких проектах, как модернизация генерирующих мощностей и цифровизация производственных и бизнес-процессов.

Предстоящая модернизация тепловой генерации в электроэнергетике потребует концентрации усилий всех без исключения энергетиков. При этом со своей стороны Компания максимально подготовилась и проработала вопросы участия своих объектов в программе модернизации. В 2019 году предстоит большая работа по практической реализации данных задач.

Также «Интер РАО» продолжит совершенствовать деятельность энергосбытовых компаний в рамках установленных эталонов, будет активно повышать эффективность теплового бизнеса, трейдинга, инжиниринга и других направлений бизнеса.

Группа «Интер РАО» готова и дальше продолжать эффективно работать в интересах акционеров, потребителей, своих сотрудников и их семей, а также на благо общества в целом.